Soiree Planning, Vol. 3

21 Apr

Next step? Flowers. “The grace note of every home begins with flowers. The first impression your home makes is less about your furniture than about the sense of beauty and hospitality it conveys.” – Kate Spade

Fresh are always best, so I was thrilled when my mother-in-law planned for this beautiful arrangement of white peonies (a personal favorite) combined with light pink wax flowers to be delivered to my home from the lovely Kathy at Art of Flowers in Nipomo.

Now while I always prefer the latter, I stumbled upon these beauties recently at Michael’s Craft Store in Paso Robles and was knocked out of my shoes with the realistic look and feel. It is amazing how far faux flowers have come lately (they even have those little imperfections such as wilted edges and tears that make the real thing so appeasing)!  Plus on top of it all, they were on sale – 2 stems for only $3.00 (regularly $6.99 each). I couldn’t bring myself to say no.

Arranged in an assortment of cobalt and buttery cream ceramic vases on top of my new french blue and coral pink melamine serving tray (as seen above) and voila! Flowers… Complete.

Check out Soiree Planning Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 for the complete evolution.

Leave a Reply

