Soiree Planning, Vol. 2

14 Apr

The next step in my soiree planning is the invitations.

“To me, there’s no such thing as the perfect invitation, because I love so many kinds. But I’m pretty consistent about a couple things: nothing is better than fine letterpress printing and witty copy…it’s all about balance and avoiding anything that takes itself too seriously.” – Kate Spade

Although purchasing the Kate Spade invites (many of which can be found locally at Paper Sky in downtown San Luis Obispo) would be so fun and simple, I was feeling the need to test out my creativity chops.

While browsing online, I came across this great DIY, magazine envelope project by Amy O’Kane, of Amy Bakes Cupcakes. A fantastic idea – I collect so many miscellaneous fashion and lifestyle magazines that I hate to throw away, but never read again – and the perfect opportunity to re-salvage them. So with a little inspiration drawn from Kate Spade and Amy O’Kane I set out to create my own cheeky invites. Keep in mind, the theme of the evening is small bites, little black dresses and champagne cocktails!

I was worried the magazine envelopes would not hold up well against the mayhem they would endure through the postal system, so I kept it simple and created an invite jacket.

Tools used: Various magazine articles and ads (trimmed to 6X11″ via an awesome paper cutter), 5.5X8.5″ bright white card stock, metallic pink wax and letter wax stamp (can be found locally at Paper Sky as well).

Directions:  Fold magazine clipping tightly into thirds around the printed invitations. Cut out a 5.5X2″ strip of contrasting magazine clipping. Place thin clipping in empty space and seal with hot wax.

So enjoyable, so simple and so chic.

3 Responses to “Soiree Planning, Vol. 2”

  1. Amy O'Kane April 22, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Paper Sky is one of my favorite stops downtown! Happy to see the little envelope tutorial being shared and enjoyed. :)

    • alliaddison April 22, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      Thank you Miss Amy O! One of the girls who received the invite said her hubby intercepted it first and was irrevocably confused by the use of magazine clippings (he thought I was trying to promote the merchandise in the article). Boys! I couldn’t help but laugh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Soiree Planning, Vol. 3 « a.addison - April 21, 2010

    […] out Soiree Planning Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 for the complete […]

Leave a Reply

